So whats the deal with radios?

This is the blog that I used a while back for my business journalism course. I mostly just did music post, so feel free to check that out. To the main point, Communication technology is something that has become pretty important to me. I hope to go into video production on an online site, so its an integral part. I wouldn’t consider myself an early adapter, but I still try to keep up to date on new tech. The positive that i see in late adapting, is that I can see the product from an outside perspective, avoid investing time and money in something that will be gone in a year, and don’t have to deal with allot of the problems that come with first editions.

First up on our communicational learning hitlist, Radio. I can’t say that I use the traditional radio broadcasting system anymore. Car rides are the main use of it for me. I don’t mind morning DJ’s, and getting the weather and traffic for the day on the ride to campus. The biggest use of radio that I see is family cookouts and events  in Springfield KY.

I think the reason that  I have a limited interaction with radio is the common reason these days. I got an I-pod and the internet so I don’t really have need for a random music delivery device. The ability to have a personalized music listening experience at any time really is more appealing to me, especially in KY where we don’t have a great variety of music stations. I would much rather spend an hour punching in a random song in YouTube, and bouncing from related video to related video. The level of super specific and personalized content is great. Why listen to the rock station when I have 2000+ songs I love on my IPod, why listen to todays talk radio when I can look through a catalog of podcast for topics a i would rather hear about. I would say that as a person who plans out my free time for maximum lounging about, radio just can’t compete. This follows the idea of narrowing audiences as the appeal of the mass broadcasting radio looses appeal when there are so many niche specific choices.

Leave a comment